State Authorizations for Distance Education

The United States Department of Education regulation 34 C.F.R. §600.9(c) requires institutions to meet any state requirements to legally offer postsecondary distance or correspondence education in states where they are not physically located. The authorization requirements, as well as application processes, vary significantly from state to state.

The University of Miami is an approved member of the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) which is recognized by 48 states and the District of Columbia. California and Massachusetts are not SARA states. A full list is available on the Student Complaint Procedures website.


For more information or questions on state authorization, contact Patty Murphy.